Call Us Today: 888-805-5421

To be pre-tax or to be post-tax, that is the question. At least, that is the question when it comes to payroll deductions. While every payroll deduction can be classified as either pre- or post-tax, how does an employer correctly classify these deductions? While several are classified by IRS regulations, other deductions are a matter of choice.

Pre-tax deductions

Pre-tax deductions allow employees to decrease their taxable

... Read More

As we enter the second half of 2019, now is the perfect time for a mid-year checkup of changes that may affect your business.

EEO-1 Pay Data

Companies with over 100 employees are required to report employee demographic information characterized by race/ethnicity, gender, and job category. The US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) will now also be collecting pay data for 2017 and 2018. The deadline for the additional

... Read More

How do you feel leaving your dog at home when you go to work in the morning? Does your dog stare at you with sad eyes and beg you to stay with just one look? What if you were able to bring your dog with you to work? What if you allowed your employees to bring their animals to work?

Employers in a variety of industries have adopted policies that allow their employees to bring their fur babies to work. However, there are many factors to

... Read More

A change to the use of paid time off while taking a leave that falls under Family and Medical Leave (FMLA) or California Family Rights Act (CFRA) regulations means employers should review and update their applicable leave policies.

Previously, employers could require employees to use any available paid time off during protected leave under the FMLA or CFRA. Due to this change, employers cannot require employees to use available time

... Read More

The California minimum wage will reach $15.00 an hour for all employers by January 1, 2023. Until then, Californians will see incremental increases of one dollar per year. Effective January 1, 2019, the minimum wage for employers with 26 or more employees increases to $12.00 per hour and $11.00 per hour for employers with 25 or fewer employees. Even if all your employees make more than minimum wage, there still may be action required.

... Read More