According to the California Court of Appeals, yes they are.
Recently, See’s Candy Shops found themselves in court defending their timekeeping rounding rules and grace period practices. The timekeeping system used at See’s automatically rounded employee in and out punches to the nearest one-tenth of an hour (every six minutes beginning with the hour mark).Under a separate grace-period policy, See’s employees whose schedules have been
School is almost out and graduates are looking for internships in order to gain valuable work experience. Employers may assume interns are unpaid employees. However, this may not be the case. Most interns are considered paid employees in the eyes of the Department of Labor (DOL) and the Department of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE).
The DOL and DLSE uses the following six-factor test to determine the classification of a worker as an
There were several significant new laws passed last year in California; however, about 100 were left unsigned. We are highlighting a few that have the potential to pass and impact your workplace in 2017.
In 2016 Governor Brown vetoed S.B. 1166, the New Parent Leave Act, which would have required employers with 20-49 employees to provide mothers and fathers up to 12 weeks of job-protected baby-bonding leave. A similar bill S.B. 63 is back
A jury in California awarded Apple Inc. retail workers with a $2 million dollar settlement for meal break violations.
According to the meal break claim, Apple did not allow their retail employees to take their unpaid meal break and were found to have a uniform scheduling practice that failed to allow their retail employees to take their meal break before the end of their fifth hour.
California law requires employers to provide hourly
Employers across the country were relieved by the preliminary injunction halting the Department of Labor’s (DOL) rule to increase the minimum salary threshold for exempt employees from $455 a week to $913 per week. This injunction does not impact your State mandated minimum wage increase(s) that go into effect on January 1, 2017.
If you are a California employer with 26 or more employees the new hourly minimum wage increases to $10.50.